Static Awareness Questions || 05 – 02 – 2019

Mentor for Bank Exams

Dear Aspirants,
Welcome to Mentor for Bank Exams. Here we are providing the Most Important  Static Awareness Quiz with reference to the previous memory based questions to help you practice with the best of latest pattern questions for the upcoming IBPS PO, IBPS Clerk and other bank and Insurance Exams.

1. Which among the following is observed as the World Ozone Day every year all over the world?
a) September 10
b) October 20
c) September 16
d) November 25
e) December 18
Answer: C)
September 16 is designated as the World Ozone Day by the United Nations since on this day the whole world is made aware of the importance of ozone gas in the atmosphere and the consequences of ozone layer depletion in the atmosphere. It was started in the year 2000.

2. The headquarters of the New Development Bank are located in –
a) Shanghai, China
b) Beijing, China
c) Tokyo, Japan
d) Manila, Indonesia
e) None of the above
Answer: A)
The New Development Bank, formerly referred to as the BRICS Development Bank, is a multilateral development bank established by the BRICS states. It is based in Shanghai, China and was founded in 2004. The present president is KV Kamath.

3. Which among the following banks has the tagline ‘Banking for All: Aao Sochein Bada’?
a) IDBI Bank
b) Bank of India
c) Bank of Maharashtra
d) Indian Overseas Bank
e) Indian Bank
Answer: A)
IDBI Bank was established in 1964 by an Act of Parliament to provide credit and other financial facilities for the development of the fledgling Indian industry. It is based in Mumbai and the tagline of the bank is ‘Banking for All: Aao Sochein Bada’.

4. Panna National Park is situated in which among the following states in India?
a) Madhya Pradesh
b) Uttar Pradesh
c) Uttarakhand
d) Chhattisgarh
e) Jharkhand
Answer: A)
Panna National Park is a national park located in Panna and Chhatarpur districts of Madhya Pradesh in India. It has an area of 542.67 km². In 1994, it was declared as the fifth tiger reserve in Madhya Pradesh and the 22nd one in the country.

5. Which among the following is the official currency of Argentina?
a) Euro
b) Dinar
c) Dirham
d) Peso
e) None of the above
Answer: D)
Argentina is a massive South American nation with terrain encompassing Andes mountains, glacial lakes and Pampas grassland, the traditional grazing ground of its famed beef cattle. The capital is Buenos Aires and the currency is Argentine Peso.

6. Sikka Thermal Power Station is based in which among the following states in India?
a) Sikkim
b) Arunachal Pradesh
c) Madhya Pradesh
d) Gujarat
e) Maharashtra
Answer: D)
Sikka Thermal Power Station is Gujarat's one of coal-fired power plant. It is located near Jamnagar which is the major industrial town in Gujarat. It is owned and administered by the Gujarat State Electricity Corporation Limited for purpose of power generation in the state.

7. Which among the following is the largest credit rating agency in India?
Answer: B)
CRISIL is a global analytical company providing ratings, research, and risk and policy advisory services. CRISIL's majority shareholder is Standard & Poor's, a division of McGraw Hill Financial and provider of financial market intelligence. It is the largest credit rating agency in India and is based in Mumbai, Maharashtra.

8. Which among the following is the capital of Dadra and Nagar Haveli?
a) Silvasa
b) Lakshadweep
c) Andaman
d) Kavaratti
e) Daman
Answer: A)
Dadra and Nagar Haveli is a union territory in Western India. It is composed of two separate geographical entities: Nagar Haveli, wedged between Maharashtra and Gujarat, and, 1 km to the northwest, the smaller enclave of Dadra, which is surrounded by Gujarat. The capital of the Union Territory is Silvasa.

9. The Vijay Hazare Trophy is associated with which among the following sports as a tournament held every year in India?
a) Football
b) Cricket
c) Hockey
d) Badminton
e) None of the above
Answer: B)
The Vijay Hazare Trophy, also known as the Ranji One Day Trophy, was started in 2002–03 as a limited-overs cricket domestic competition involving state teams from the Ranji Trophy plates. It is named after the famous Indian cricketer Vijay Hazare.

10. The city of Hazira is located in which among the following states in India?
a) Maharashtra
b) Rajasthan
c) Arunachal Pradesh
c) Gujarat
e) None of the above
Answer: D)
Hazira is a town and a transshipment port in the Surat district in the Gujarat state in southwestern India. Hazira is one of the major ports of India and the most important element of Surat Metropolitan Region. It is known as the industrial hub of India.

11. The Survey General of India is based in which among the following cities in the country?
a) Mumbai
b) Kochi
c) Jaipur
d) Coimbatore
e) Dehradun
Answer: E)
The Surveyor General of India is the Head of Department of Survey of India, a Department under the Ministry of Science and Technology of Government of India. He also happens to be the senior most member of the Survey of India Service, an organized engineering service under the Union of India. The office is based in Dehradun, Uttarakhand.

12. North Koel River flows through which among the following states in India?
a) Jharkhand
b) Bihar
c) West Bengal
d) Odisha
e) Himachal Pradesh
Answer: A)
North Koel River flows through the Indian state of Jharkhand. From its source to its junction with the Son its length is about 260 kilometres (160 mi), and since it drains a catchment area of at least 9,100 square kilometres, it naturally contributes a large supply of water to the Son during the rains.

13. Which among the following is observed as the World Red Cross Day every year all over the world?
a) June 10
b) May 15
c) May 08
d) May 12
e) None of the above
Answer: C)
World Red Cross and Red Crescent Day is an annual celebration of the principles of the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement. World Red Cross Red Crescent Day is celebrated on 8 May each year.

14. The national currency of Philippines is which among the following?
a) Pound
b) Sterling
c) Peso
d) Dollar
e) Philippines Rupee
Answer: C)
The Philippines is a Southeast Asian country in the Western Pacific, comprising more than 7,000 islands. Its capital, Manila, is famous for its waterfront promenade and centuries-old Chinatown, Binondo. The currency of the country is Peso.

15. The International Court of Justice is based in which among the following countries?
a) Spain
b) Germany
c) France
d) The Netherlands
e) None of the above
Answer: D)
The International Court of Justice, commonly referred to as the World Court, ICJ or The Hague is the primary judicial branch of the United Nations (UN). Seated in the Peace Palace in The Hague, Netherlands, the court settles legal disputes submitted to it by states and provides advisory opinions on legal questions submitted to it by duly authorized international branches, agencies, and the UN General Assembly.